Love and Marriage

Let the beauty we love be what we do. There are a thousand ways to kiss the earth.

 -Rumi

A couple of weekends ago, we hosted a wedding for a couple called Nina and Jonathan. It was the first time I’d worked on a wedding so it was good to see how it all works. The whole wood had been booked, including the whole house which would accommodate those wedding guests that weren’t camping out in tents, the bell tent or the tipi.

The family house is a lovely home, comfortable, spacious and aesthetically pleasing. It is home to a lot of people,  has a very loose ‘no shoes inside’ policy and is situated in a wood. This means that it does get rather dirty quite quickly. Now I’m a clean and tidy sort of woman but the dirt never bothered me much, I always saw it as a sign that I was working and living with people who’d got their priorities right.

So when Emily asked me to clean the house in preparation for the wedding, I knew I was in for an epic clean.  I cleaned the 5/6 bedroom house from top to bottom and made up all nine beds with fresh linen. Once I’d finished, it was beautiful, and I was happily exhausted.
Then we, the home-team, had to evict ourselves and allow a bunch of strangers to move in for two nights. I was ok cos I’m in the caravan. Emily had taken the kids to Cornwall for a holiday. Dan and Luska slept in the yurt.

The wedding went very well, the marquee was beautifully bedecked, the courtyard and Luska’s Wild Bar looked fantastic and the tea garden was adorned with bunting and flowers. The ceremony happened in the wood, but of that I can relate very little, for I was not there. There was a silent disco, a dance performance, a bonfire and an ice cream van. And a fair few drunken revellers…

heartsponge.jpg

 

I put my heart into the cleaning…

 

Leave a comment